Hello – My Name is DBA and I’m a Canaletto-holic

Okay, so I have to be honest. This was my first time on a ship with Canaletto (it was added just after my 3 day cruise on Amsterdam last year) and I’m now absolutely in love with the food.

Having a background in restaurants before I came to HAL almost 4 years ago and almost all of that time in Italian cuisine, I know a thing or twenty about Italian food and in particular good, FRESH Italian food. This was by far some of the best I’ve ever had!

Below, please find a copy of the menu that you can click on and enlarge to a size I think almost everyone will be able to easily read. Of the choices below, mine were the Zuppa di Pesce, Lasagna and Tiramisu Trio. My friends ordered the other items you see here. Apologies as I didn’t get any pictures of the antipasto platter, but it had an incredible selection of Italian meats, fresh mozzarella, calamari, various grilled and marinated veggies and pesto.

In a word – Delizioso!
In a few more words – This is NOT that last time that Canaletto and DBA will cross paths!


Menu (click to enlarge)


Entrance


Plate Design 1 of 2


Plate Design 2 of 2


Assorted breadsticks, garlic bread ond focaccia


Part of the table setting – Fresh roses


View from our table. Am I watching the Captain while I’m eating, or is the Captain watching me eat?


Insalata Canaletto


Minestrone


Zuppa di Pesce (clams, mussels, salmon and shrimp)


Cod Putanesca


Baked Meat Lasagna Pomodoro


Trio of Tiramisu


From left: Amaretto, Lemon and Espresso


Mille-Feuille of Madagascar Chocolate

This entry was posted in Amsterdam, Follow DBA, Holland America Line. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello – My Name is DBA and I’m a Canaletto-holic

  1. LoyHAL says:

    Oh, yummy! We’re on Zaandam in two weeks and I’m trying to remember if Canaletto is on her. If so, I think we’ll have to try it — if only for the desserts! Thanks for the photos.
    Norma

Leave a Reply

